Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-31-2019, 03:29 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,472
My Photos: (293)
Default Adjustable Temperature Switch?

Been searching for a radiator fan temperature switch. Unfortunately you cant find the temp on/off settings for these switches. Summit lists a few but, when you look at the reviews, seems about 50% of people say they are on and off at dramatically different temperatures.

I found a few for old cars on Ebay and some show a set screw next to the terminal. I'm thinking this is an temperature adjustment? There is also 2 terminal switches with the same screw next to each terminal (presumably hi/lo). Anyone know if these old switches were adjustable?

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2019, 09:44 PM
phantomjock's Avatar
phantomjock phantomjock is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Retired Again!
Posts: 1,285
My Photos: (666)
Default

Can't answer your question - sorry. Buy I did buy 2 of these:

for my refrigeration system - to run fans from external power. Didn't install 'em so brought them home to run on the car instead. Haven't tried yet - but might be an alternative. Hey, only 11 bucks at Amazon. And there is a read out - but all in "C."

Cheers - Jim
__________________
Rebuilder's Zen Saying:
One thought leads to another. If these thoughts link into a chain we become bound to the project. This bondage is subtle and remains until we complete the tasks -- or, STOP Thinking!
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2019, 12:15 AM
rtj's Avatar
rtj rtj is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,812
My Photos: (67)
Default

This search term works:

adjustable thermostatic fan switch automotive

Lots of hits, pretty reasonably priced.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2019, 01:24 AM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,472
My Photos: (293)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtj View Post
This search term works:

adjustable thermostatic fan switch automotive

Lots of hits, pretty reasonably priced.
All of the hits I see are the radiator "probe" switches. Thats not what I am looking for. I'm not so concerned with the temperature of the water in the radiator. More concerned with the engine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2019, 11:14 AM
rtj's Avatar
rtj rtj is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,812
My Photos: (67)
Default

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

This sensor looks pretty beefy. But price is high.

The water going into the rad should be engine temp once thermostat opens.

On one car I leave one fan always on and switch the second. The other car has an electric fan on and a factory fan.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2019, 12:35 PM
mdbelanger's Avatar
mdbelanger mdbelanger is offline
United States | Almost broke my 3rd.....member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 134
My Photos: (0)
Default

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
__________________
IMPOTENCE:
Nature's way of saying, "No hard feelings".
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2019, 10:20 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,472
My Photos: (293)
Default

Looks like I will have to use a fixed temperature switch. Found a source from Afco at Speedway that looks like it will work.

However, I am intrigued by the temperature "probe" style units for other purposes. You used to see this in auto A/C evaporators with black foamy looking stuff around it. This picture looks like the probe is band clamped and then foamed. You guys think this is to insulate the probe?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2019, 09:46 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 15,289
My Photos: (3)
Default

Nah, that insulation just assures a more accurate temp sense of the chilly pipe as it runs near enough to freezing that any lie to the probe by the outside air at near 190f or so will upset the coil temp to maybe freeze up......
__________________
"Hell, there are no rules here ... we're trying to accomplish something." Thomas Edison
I have a little list, let ALL of them be MIST......
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:19 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.