Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Classic Corvettes

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-28-2017, 10:23 PM
SRountree's Avatar
SRountree SRountree is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cincinnati - Middletown OH
Posts: 189
My Photos: (63)
Default SERPETINE PULLY CONVERSION

did anyone convert their C3 original belt system to a newer serpetine system at a reasonable price?
__________________
Steve Rountree
513.505.4494
Middletown OH


If you can change your thoughts,...
You can change your world...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2017, 09:18 PM
Sam Cogley's Avatar
Sam Cogley Sam Cogley is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 557
My Photos: (0)
Default

Yep. Used the parts from a later model SBC. Plentiful on stuff like Caprices.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2017, 10:47 PM
SRountree's Avatar
SRountree SRountree is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cincinnati - Middletown OH
Posts: 189
My Photos: (63)
Default

I read an article where a guy used a caprice but I didn't know if any modification were necessary or can you bolt it on?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2017, 06:28 AM
Sam Cogley's Avatar
Sam Cogley Sam Cogley is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 557
My Photos: (0)
Default

It bolted right on to my Gen 1 SBC. I had to get the right water pump and serpentine belt after I removed the smog pump.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2017, 05:10 PM
SRountree's Avatar
SRountree SRountree is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cincinnati - Middletown OH
Posts: 189
My Photos: (63)
Default

That’s great, is there a specific year I should be looking for? any details will help. I plan on going to the salvage yard to look for the parts. I assume you purchased a new altenator, air unit? what about the power steering set up?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2017, 06:38 PM
Sam Cogley's Avatar
Sam Cogley Sam Cogley is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 557
My Photos: (0)
Default

I upgraded to a CS144 alternator, which required a cradle that GM no longer sells, but it may be available with a bit of searching. A CS130 will drop right in. Air conditioning has to be upgraded to the newer "pancake" style compressor. Power steering was redone with a rebuilt pump with serpentine pulley in my old reservoir.

I have no idea what year my parts came out of. They're all pretty much the same, I think. You want the short brackets with everything mounted in the original Corvette positions.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2017, 08:56 PM
SRountree's Avatar
SRountree SRountree is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cincinnati - Middletown OH
Posts: 189
My Photos: (63)
Default

I found a link on Corvette forum concerning this topic that seemed easy to follow but I need more information before I try it. I would love a step by step instruction with part numbers etc because I dont have much money trying things that may not work for me. I read enough comments from others that needed to make modifications. the part that scares me, are comments like underdrive pullys or drilling holes in the head to add a bolt to secure a bracket is not an easy task. at least for me. If you guys look at this link, I am sure it will make sense to you. I saved the link to revisit after I complete my barn which will give me the space to spread out. Hopefully once I get into the mods, they will make more sense to me. here is the link.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Last edited by SRountree; 12-30-2017 at 09:16 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2017, 01:09 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,336
My Photos: (262)
Default

Steve, I have the early 90's truck setup on my BB. That comes with no smog pump so you don't have issues with A-arm clearance. You will need to go to electric radiator fans.

Do you have AC and power steering?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2017, 03:55 PM
SRountree's Avatar
SRountree SRountree is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cincinnati - Middletown OH
Posts: 189
My Photos: (63)
Default

Yes I have both but my 383 is a SB... would an early 350 in a truck work as a bolt on?

BTW, have you done anything lately on ur vette?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2017, 04:27 PM
Sam Cogley's Avatar
Sam Cogley Sam Cogley is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 557
My Photos: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRountree View Post
Yes I have both but my 383 is a SB... would an early 350 in a truck work as a bolt on?

BTW, have you done anything lately on ur vette?
I'm pretty sure the truck SBC brackets are far too tall to fit under a C3 hood.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.