Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Workshop > Rebuilding Techniques

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-30-2008, 07:10 PM
MYBAD79's Avatar
MYBAD79 MYBAD79 is offline
Germany | Crew Chief
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sunny Florida
Posts: 7,159
My Photos: (882)
Default Rear bearings - setting endplay

I assembled with a .144" shim and got .025" clearance.

I assembled with a .121" shim and got no more clearance, however the spindle is easy to turn.

I am measuring with a dial indicator and I expected .002" end play with the .121" shim (.023" thinner than the other one).

This is giving me a headache
__________________
Link to my garage:

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2008, 08:06 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 15,287
My Photos: (3)
Default

I'd go with .144 and take the .025 and leave it alone...

I B really scared that when up to speed and running, that thing get very very VERY unhappy

__________________
"Hell, there are no rules here ... we're trying to accomplish something." Thomas Edison
I have a little list, let ALL of them be MIST......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2008, 08:11 PM
MYBAD79's Avatar
MYBAD79 MYBAD79 is offline
Germany | Crew Chief
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sunny Florida
Posts: 7,159
My Photos: (882)
Default

The .144" shim is a new shim. The .121" shim was installed with the old bearings.
the difference between the two is .023", therefore the endplay should come down from .025" to .002"

I have to improve my measuring setup I guess....

This is driving me nucking futs....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2008, 08:14 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 15,287
My Photos: (3)
Default

2-4 mils is said to be cool, so you right in there on the snugger side....

I fail to see an issue from everything I have read....GARY would know for sure....

I had mine done by a vette shop when I bought the car nearly 16 years ago...

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2008, 10:53 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

Karsten, put the larger shim in there and spin the setup tool like you would spin a lapping stick. Do it for a little while and measure again. Wanna bet you find your clearance there? If not, take the SPACER and lay some sanding paper on a flat sheet and in circles of 8 motions sand it down, rotating it in your hand a quarter turn every now and then. Not everyone has a nice grinding table like Gary has. You can take a little off the spacer to get your clearance.
__________________


[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2008, 11:27 PM
stinger12's Avatar
stinger12 stinger12 is offline
Canada | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 832
My Photos: (0)
Default

Make sure to work the bearing in with your hand by rotating the spindle tool and pulling down on it as you rotate it. Do this like ten times every time before you meausre with the dial indicator - your arm will get tired, but its a sure way to know that you are measuring the clearance correctly. Then spin it a few more times while pushing down on the spindle tool.

Last edited by stinger12; 11-30-2008 at 11:32 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2008, 11:31 PM
stinger12's Avatar
stinger12 stinger12 is offline
Canada | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 832
My Photos: (0)
Default

Also make sue that you bearing support is not moving during setup. You could make a bearing support plate to hold your assembly, or use a vise and tighten it up a ton so nothing moves. If you use the vise method, be very careful when measuring the assembly - do not push too hard on the spindle tool or else you could shift the assembly and make your reading inaccurate. Another tip - make sure you push the assembly tool straight up when you are measuring endplay. What I mean is, wherever you set the indicator on the nut, make sure that it doesn't move left or right of that spot when you push up...it could affect your readings.

Last edited by stinger12; 11-30-2008 at 11:36 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2008, 02:30 AM
MYBAD79's Avatar
MYBAD79 MYBAD79 is offline
Germany | Crew Chief
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sunny Florida
Posts: 7,159
My Photos: (882)
Default

Thanks guys. I tried a different setup and now I measured .020" end play with the .144" shim. I believe this reading to be accurate.

I need a .126" shim to get .002" endplay. The .122" shim that I have is too tight.

I assembled the second assembly and noticed that the spindle flange is f'ed up. It has a nice burr on the inboard face that touches the bearing. It's worn down so that the washer under the spindle nut is pressing on the spindle shoulder instead of the flange.... guess I need one new flange.... don't like the idea of a spacer between bearing and flange, that piece would sit right at the seal and would most likely cause it to leak.

The two flanges that I have on my '79 are fine, however I want these two arms to be complete and ready for a quick swap without having the '79 on jacks for weeks....

checking Ebay.....


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2008, 03:03 AM
69427's Avatar
69427 69427 is offline
United States | The Artist formerly known as Turbo84
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Clinging to my guns and religion in KCMO.
Posts: 2,536
My Photos: (0)
Default

Karsten,

I've got a spare flange. I believe it's unused, just sitting in my parts pile. I'm going C4 suspension on my '69, so I don't have a need for C3 repair parts. The flange is free for the asking. Just let me know.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2008, 03:13 AM
MYBAD79's Avatar
MYBAD79 MYBAD79 is offline
Germany | Crew Chief
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sunny Florida
Posts: 7,159
My Photos: (882)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 69427 View Post
Karsten,

I've got a spare flange. I believe it's unused, just sitting in my parts pile. I'm going C4 suspension on my '69, so I don't have a need for C3 repair parts. The flange is free for the asking. Just let me know.

Mike
Awesome !!!

I'm sending you a PM :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.