Old Project Revitalized - 56 Track Car

mfain

I've been missing in action for a couple of years tracking an ACR and a Focus - got that out of my system. I'm not getting any younger so I decided I better get serious about finishing my old 56 Corvette track car that I have been "modifying" since 1975. I sold a couple of my old Corvettes for operating capital and I am devoting it all to finish the 56. So here's where I am. The car is caged, widened, and with a completed high travel/low roll front suspension. The rear suspension was a much modified C4-based system, but I was afraid it wouldn't be strong enough, so I just purchased a complete DecaLink from DSE with a hammerhead differential and 1200 HP axles. I am adapting the DecaLink to the C1 rear frame rails - should be fun. A couple of months ago I commissioned Larry's Engine and Marine (Tuscon AZ - renowned for their BBC offshore race boat motors) to build an all aluminum (Brodix) 515 CI big bore/short stroke (4.6 bore/3.875 stroke) motor with Calles crank/rods, 13:1 JE pistons, Comp Cams solid roller, TD shaft rockers, Dailey signature dry sump system, Hogan fabricated sequential injection intake system, and a Motec ECU. I just received my new Tilton bellhousing, rear mounted starter, and triple disk 7.25 inch carbon clutch. The transmission is a TKO 600 extreme built by American Powertrain that I have had for a while. I will post photos as things progress.

Pappy

56 and 62.jpg

Corvette LCA 2.jpg56 and 62.jpgCorvette LCA 2.jpg

Great, looking forward to the updates.

Didn't you have a watts link trailing link on your rear suspension? Always thought that was interesting.

Great to have you back and looking forward to your updates. :)

Is that Tilton piece considered a scattershield? Or do you run a blanket around it? Whats the front suspension consist of?

Is that Tilton piece considered a scattershield? Or do you run a blanket around it? Whats the front suspension consist of?