Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-28-2016, 11:58 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 15,313
My Photos: (3)
Default Ford plugs in my vette.....

Had some engine running problems when 'cold' meaning maybe 75F over night.....and after the repairs, the thing ran like shit when 'cold' when it hit ~130f it smoothed out.....

I had bought FORD Autolite plugs for it, same looks, BUT made in CHINA.....

I saved the old Champion plugs that were in there for years.....cleaned them up and finally put them in this AM, weather was more or less tolerable in that I did it with just three changes of T shirts and two changes of briefs......

and let my shorts under the fan for a hour.....FLORIDA!!!!


and so took it out for a test drive....the old Champion plugs ran fine, cold/hot, whatever....pulled like a BANDIT uphill and I wish I had payed attention to the parts guy who commented he would not put FORD plugs in a GM product.....

BUT in all honesty they LOOKED IDENTICAL any comments as to WTF???


__________________
"Hell, there are no rules here ... we're trying to accomplish something." Thomas Edison
I have a little list, let ALL of them be MIST......
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2016, 01:43 AM
phantomjock's Avatar
phantomjock phantomjock is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Retired Again!
Posts: 1,083
My Photos: (554)
Default

Gene - its all in the NAME. Those were CHAMPIONS - and the others...autoLITE!
Is this a new Joke of the Day?

No clue - but couldn't resist your so perfect setup - you ole straight man.

Cheers Jim
__________________
Rebuilder's Zen Saying:
One thought leads to another. If these thoughts link into a chain we become bound to the project. This bondage is subtle and remains until we complete the tasks -- or, STOP Thinking!
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2016, 01:35 PM
JPhil's Avatar
JPhil JPhil is offline
United States | Huh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,382
My Photos: (140)
Default

A spark plug's a spark plug's a spark plug. What brand of engine it screws into makes no difference. I wouldn't put Champions or Autolites in my lawnmower. I run NGK now, but also ran Bosch or Accell in my previous bikes & cars. Haven't used a Champion since probably 1980.
__________________
Kill the Buddha
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2016, 09:07 PM
Sam Cogley's Avatar
Sam Cogley Sam Cogley is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 551
My Photos: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPhil View Post
A spark plug's a spark plug's a spark plug. What brand of engine it screws into makes no difference. I wouldn't put Champions or Autolites in my lawnmower. I run NGK now, but also ran Bosch or Accell in my previous bikes & cars. Haven't used a Champion since probably 1980.
NGKs or Bosch on almost everything here. I think I have an E3 in my chainsaw.

I did put a NOS antique set of Champions in my dad's 1930 Ford AA several years back, replacing a widly mismatched set that were in there (I think there was an Edison, a Champion, and who knows what else).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:43 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.