Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > EFI

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 03-19-2014, 02:13 PM
BangkokDean's Avatar
BangkokDean BangkokDean is offline
Thailand | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 3,362
My Photos: (14)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvette View Post
That looks like the oddest position for a MAP sensor, down next to the headers, and what are all those vacuum hoses doing there?? I can see one smaller hose to the map sensor, but I seeing larger ones also... why??

looks like some green wires going under that bracket, and for some reason the MAP sensor looks as if the mounting tab on the outer end was broken off....that's weird....

what I would do is get another sensor, and just let it hang off the port with a short hose to the plenum, and do what necessary to get the wires hooked up correctly.....

wonder if it's heat related?? too much heat for the poor sensor, that's certainly a funky location that I see no reason for it to be THERE.....
Actually the sensor is connected to the back of the engine the exhaust is at least 20 inches away.

But I will order a new one from Summit that I posted above.

What you see as hoses are wires from the Dakota Digital shiftier indicator.
__________________
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
From the land of smiles
Bangkok Dean
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-19-2014, 06:42 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 15,287
My Photos: (3)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BangkokDean View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvette View Post
That looks like the oddest position for a MAP sensor, down next to the headers, and what are all those vacuum hoses doing there?? I can see one smaller hose to the map sensor, but I seeing larger ones also... why??

looks like some green wires going under that bracket, and for some reason the MAP sensor looks as if the mounting tab on the outer end was broken off....that's weird....

what I would do is get another sensor, and just let it hang off the port with a short hose to the plenum, and do what necessary to get the wires hooked up correctly.....

wonder if it's heat related?? too much heat for the poor sensor, that's certainly a funky location that I see no reason for it to be THERE.....
Actually the sensor is connected to the back of the engine the exhaust is at least 20 inches away.

But I will order a new one from Summit that I posted above.

What you see as hoses are wires from the Dakota Digital shiftier indicator.
I looking at the exhaust pipe dia, and it's damn close to same as distance to the sensor.....very odd perspective to have it at 20" distance, and I still think about that missing tab and it's location....

And at any rate, just for grins, I put the Fuel regulator on a long vacuum line, like to put FP reg in the rear near the pump, and use return line for vacuum.....well that didn't work out at ALL....... I wonder about anything longer than a ~6' line to the MAP......I"d put it up snug to the plenum when you get the new one, see what happens, and maybe then mount to the firewall, NOT down there....
__________________
"Hell, there are no rules here ... we're trying to accomplish something." Thomas Edison
I have a little list, let ALL of them be MIST......

Last edited by mrvette; 03-19-2014 at 06:45 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-20-2014, 02:36 AM
BangkokDean's Avatar
BangkokDean BangkokDean is offline
Thailand | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 3,362
My Photos: (14)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvette View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BangkokDean View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvette View Post
That looks like the oddest position for a MAP sensor, down next to the headers, and what are all those vacuum hoses doing there?? I can see one smaller hose to the map sensor, but I seeing larger ones also... why??

looks like some green wires going under that bracket, and for some reason the MAP sensor looks as if the mounting tab on the outer end was broken off....that's weird....

what I would do is get another sensor, and just let it hang off the port with a short hose to the plenum, and do what necessary to get the wires hooked up correctly.....

wonder if it's heat related?? too much heat for the poor sensor, that's certainly a funky location that I see no reason for it to be THERE.....
Actually the sensor is connected to the back of the engine the exhaust is at least 20 inches away.

But I will order a new one from Summit that I posted above.

What you see as hoses are wires from the Dakota Digital shiftier indicator.
I looking at the exhaust pipe dia, and it's damn close to same as distance to the sensor.....very odd perspective to have it at 20" distance, and I still think about that missing tab and it's location....

And at any rate, just for grins, I put the Fuel regulator on a long vacuum line, like to put FP reg in the rear near the pump, and use return line for vacuum.....well that didn't work out at ALL....... I wonder about anything longer than a ~6' line to the MAP......I"d put it up snug to the plenum when you get the new one, see what happens, and maybe then mount to the firewall, NOT down there....
OK I see your point. I will move it up away from the heads. I will also try using a different vacuum point. So far no one has told me what the MPS sensor does? Does it control the timing? You see the LPG injection is a separate computer but it does not control the timing.
Many thanks, Dean
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-20-2014, 06:14 AM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

It's a manifold absolute pressure sensor, it reads manifold absolute pressure and the ecu uses that for fuel calculations, it's a sort of load factor like the lv8 on MAF systems. The timing is dependant on RPM & MAP YES!!! It, like the fueling map is a 3d graph of rpm vs map
__________________


[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-20-2014, 06:42 AM
BangkokDean's Avatar
BangkokDean BangkokDean is offline
Thailand | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 3,362
My Photos: (14)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin_Turbo View Post
It's a manifold absolute pressure sensor, it reads manifold absolute pressure and the ecu uses that for fuel calculations, it's a sort of load factor like the lv8 on MAF systems. The timing is dependant on RPM & MAP YES!!! It, like the fueling map is a 3d graph of rpm vs map
OK thanks. I will move the MAP sensor and also where it gets the vacuum from.

This is what these ports are used for right now.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

The PCV is connected to the port on the left side of the intake (where you had told me to use)

I have been reading the posts on third gen f-body site and I see some people have had the same problems and one found a bad ground on his coil and others suggested Idle Air Control valve replacement or cleaning.

My IAC is new but I will remove it and see what it looks like.

Last edited by BangkokDean; 03-20-2014 at 09:55 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-21-2014, 03:55 AM
TimAT's Avatar
TimAT TimAT is offline
United States | Addict
Cruise-In Bird-Run 1 Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gladstone, Missouri
Posts: 1,989
My Photos: (60)
Default

The IAC valve has some passages at the end of the pintle (cone shaped pin at the end). Check that those passages are clean, some tend to get bits of carbon and other goo that plugs up the system.
__________________
Why is it that all instruments searching for intelligent life are pointed away from the Earth?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-21-2014, 04:01 AM
BangkokDean's Avatar
BangkokDean BangkokDean is offline
Thailand | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 3,362
My Photos: (14)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimAT View Post
The IAC valve has some passages at the end of the pintle (cone shaped pin at the end). Check that those passages are clean, some tend to get bits of carbon and other goo that plugs up the system.
Will do, thanks Tim
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-21-2014, 06:41 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 15,287
My Photos: (3)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BangkokDean View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin_Turbo View Post
It's a manifold absolute pressure sensor, it reads manifold absolute pressure and the ecu uses that for fuel calculations, it's a sort of load factor like the lv8 on MAF systems. The timing is dependant on RPM & MAP YES!!! It, like the fueling map is a 3d graph of rpm vs map
OK thanks. I will move the MAP sensor and also where it gets the vacuum from.

This is what these ports are used for right now.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

The PCV is connected to the port on the left side of the intake (where you had told me to use)

I have been reading the posts on third gen f-body site and I see some people have had the same problems and one found a bad ground on his coil and others suggested Idle Air Control valve replacement or cleaning.

My IAC is new but I will remove it and see what it looks like.
Your pix there and asking about power brakes booster I assmume, it's too small, you need a 3/8 hose/pipe/connection for that, and on the left rear up/under of that plenum, you have a hole drilled for a fitting and 3/8 ID hose to the booster, NOW, if that hole in the plenum is open to atmosphere, I be surprised the engine runs a ALL, the F body dizzy makes it much easier to spot, and yes, 5 to 5 is the fuel pressure reg, and so to connect it to one of them ports in back as shown, but the MAP sensor has to go to another one in that set of 3 in that location.....the other was intended to run vacuum accessories, such as HVAC flow controls....if unused, plug/cap it....

I still convinced we can fix this via remote control, no matter HOW remote you ARE.....
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-22-2014, 03:33 AM
BangkokDean's Avatar
BangkokDean BangkokDean is offline
Thailand | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 3,362
My Photos: (14)
Default

Thanks Gene, I only have two ports on the right side of the Pentium as shown in the picture. The port you mentioned in the lower Pentium is what the MAP is connected to. My power booster located on the right side is from ford and has a really small connecting hose 1/4 inch, plus to connect to the port for left side booster is difficult due to the dizzy being so close to the fire wall, there is no room. The break booster works just fine as is, see the picture of my booster.
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Now I have ordered a new dizzy and MAP sensor that should be here in 3 weeks time so I will take your advise, when the old dizzy is out mount the MAP sensor in a different location away from the back of the heads. My fire wall has nothing but the booster connected to it and I really don't want to drill any holes in it so the MAP sensor will have to be located some where on the back of the intake. My coil is mounted just on the right side of the dizzy with a plate made to bolt to the intake. It sits really nicely there, so I might mount the MAP on the other side but will have to wait till I do the dizzy change. When I do this I will post pictures.
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-24-2014, 07:59 AM
BangkokDean's Avatar
BangkokDean BangkokDean is offline
Thailand | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 3,362
My Photos: (14)
Default

Does the L98 TPI require a crank position sensor?

TT asked this question,"You DO have the correct prom in it right? For an automatic and not a manual? IAC steps, stall saver etc. are different for a manual."

I really don't know if I have the correct prom? this is what I have below. Now if I need a different one where do I buy one?

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Last edited by BangkokDean; 03-24-2014 at 08:27 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:40 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.