Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Electrical & Ignition

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-06-2013, 05:43 PM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default C3 window switch failing?

What is the usual cause of these window switches failing? The switch itself or the harness?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2013, 06:42 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 15,287
My Photos: (3)
Default

Over the decades I have seen the plugs corrode and get hot/burn up on the switch terminals, taking the switch with it.....now I also have seen the switches themselves fail.....but if you are careful, you can take the switches apart and clean/polish the contacts, and be fine.....do same with the pegs obviously....and work around/scrub the plug on the switch.....

NOW, years ago, there was a olde tyme TV tuner cleaner, for the contacts on the old mechanical tuners, it was called BLUE STUFF, I still have a can from 35 years ago or so, and use it sparingly.....it's a true miracle worker as my '72 vette and my 70 goat never had any window switch problems after being reworked with that shit.....

been a while.....
__________________
"Hell, there are no rules here ... we're trying to accomplish something." Thomas Edison
I have a little list, let ALL of them be MIST......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2013, 04:31 AM
BangkokDean's Avatar
BangkokDean BangkokDean is offline
Thailand | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 3,362
My Photos: (14)
Default

I use Sonex spray, it cleans the contacts.
__________________
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
From the land of smiles
Bangkok Dean
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2013, 08:32 AM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default

It was grounding out on the driveshaft tunnel. Surprised this hasnt happened to anyone else. Just glued some polyester under it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2013, 08:34 AM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

If you want to improve the electrics, use relays 2 on each door. The loss through those switches is quite a bit. Windows fly up and down when using relays and a large 12V feed to them.
__________________


[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-08-2013, 06:05 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 15,287
My Photos: (3)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin_Turbo View Post
If you want to improve the electrics, use relays 2 on each door. The loss through those switches is quite a bit. Windows fly up and down when using relays and a large 12V feed to them.
HUMMMM>>>>>
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2015, 11:18 PM
Raybe's Avatar
Raybe Raybe is offline
United States | n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Plains,Pa
Posts: 17
My Photos: (0)
Default switch

Got one if you need it........Ray
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:30 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.