Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Wheels, Tires and Brakes

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-13-2016, 09:03 PM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default Brake Booster Check/ Upgrade?

Brakes have always been stiff in my C3, but they feel really stiff right now... Like manual brake stiff. Not sure if they've always been like that.

No visible vacuum leaks. But then again, my motor makes about as much vacuum as a diesel. Haha.

So I did the pump up the brake pedal test, and turned the motor on while pressing on it. It moves down incrementally. Like, 1/2 an inch.

So... is it working? Working poorly?

And if I do have to replace it, stock booster with a C5 master and a wildwood adjustable proportioning valve the way to go? Nothing better than a stock booster?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2016, 09:51 PM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default

HEELLLOOOOOO hello hello... HEEELLLLLLLOOOOO!!!! hello hello hello...

Vettemod turn into a ghost town? What happened?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2016, 01:21 AM
Sam Cogley's Avatar
Sam Cogley Sam Cogley is online now
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 555
My Photos: (0)
Default

If your engine isn't making much vacuum, get a Hydroboost.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2016, 05:48 AM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default

Procharger, no chance.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2016, 06:48 AM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

Get a vacuum pump, that will take care of it, however with a procharger there's no need to not have any vacuum at all. Are you venting the charge air at idle?
__________________


[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2016, 02:22 PM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin_Turbo View Post
Get a vacuum pump, that will take care of it, however with a procharger there's no need to not have any vacuum at all. Are you venting the charge air at idle?

The issue is with my pulley setup there is just no room for a power steering pump.

I don't even know if my low vacuum is the issue. I have a reserve can. It's been a few years since I've driven the car for more than 2 miles. I don't remember how stiff the pedal was.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2016, 02:24 PM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default

And yes, there is a blow off valve that opens with even just a few inches of vacuum. I think I'm at 5-7 at idle.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2016, 05:04 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

You could use an electric vacuum pump on a reservoir.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:20 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.