Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Wheels, Tires and Brakes

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-17-2012, 10:12 AM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default C6 calipers an advantage over C3 calipers?

So, after searching google for an hour and finding nothing I figured it was time for some expert advice...

I scored a set of C6 Z51 brakes tonight thanks to BadAssC6. And I noticed that the fronts are only 2 piston, and the rears are only 1 piston calipers. So... would there be any advantage?

Im going to at least run the 13.5 rotors... but Im debating whether I should do it with my stock calipers or not.

Do I need to run a c6 booster/ master to appreciate the advantage?

IM NOT WORRIED ABOUT FITMENT, STAY FOCUSED. HAHA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2012, 11:21 AM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

C6 Z51 is the same as all non Z51 and C5 stuff with the exception of a larger Rotor. C5 uses a 13ish ich rotor, the Z51 uses I think in the vicinity of 13.5 The oly diff. are the abutments. That said, if someone has the C5 caliper adapter brackets dimensions you can simply use those. In fact, even C6Z06 calipers will bolt to that. I did that on 1 of my 3rd gens. Had C5 calipers w/ bare rotors on it, swapped those to another 3rd and installed Z06 stuff on it, now off again because I want 15" rotors

The discs are all 1.25 wide. These are floating calipers, the pistons extend twice as far as the whole caliper moves over, so in effect they are virtual 4 piston fixed calipers. On floaters, always double # of pistons comparing to fixed calipers because the pistons extend twice as far.

I would upgrade to C5 master, easy lightweight and a lot better looking that a arusty stock C3 MC.
__________________


[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2012, 04:45 PM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default

What about running c3 calipers on the c6 rotors?

And is there any benefit to going with a c6 booster? Are the c5 master and booster the same as in a c6?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2012, 08:13 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

Why would you want to use an inferior calipers?

No need to swap boosters, would be quite problematic if you ask me, probably different bolt pattern, push rod length is not the same...etc...etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2012, 07:55 AM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default

And a c5 master will bolt right to the stock booster? And other than looks, is there any reason to go with a c5 master?

Thanks again btw TT!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2012, 02:00 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

bolt on, lighter weight, wont corrode, won't leak, can hook up level switch for a warning lamp. You only need to do custom lines. Get adapters, have customs lines made, make yourself... do a search. BBShark and 69427 have topics on it. I used custom made stainless braided lines w/ 2 different ends (metric and imperial)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2012, 09:21 PM
enkeivette's Avatar
enkeivette enkeivette is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 999
My Photos: (0)
Default

But it doesnt improve braking??

So technically a c3 master/booster will provide the same braking with c6 brakes, as a c6 master/booster??

I thought I remembered reading about someone on CF who installed c5 brakes and he said the braking wasnt any better, and suspected it was because of the old master/booster.

One thing I think I really do need is a vacuum pump. I need to leave it in gear when Im braking or theres not enough vacuum to stop! Haha
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2012, 11:29 PM
010752 010752 is offline
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: S Florida
Posts: 943
My Photos: (0)
Default

Dammit man, just Dammit... Hydraboost.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-18-2012, 11:50 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

The C5 master has a smaller bore so slightly lighter pedal but more travel.

If one installed 13" C5 rotors and the calipers and braking hasn't improved something is really wrong. Forget the line pressure differences you may see or piston size differences, the brake torque increase alone should make a big difference.

I have C5 calipers on my 88 camaro and it stops on a dime. It's better than the C4 HD 13" system.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-19-2012, 01:03 AM
SmokinBBC's Avatar
SmokinBBC SmokinBBC is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 2,758
My Photos: (4)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 010752 View Post
Dammit man, just Dammit... Hydraboost.
Classic
__________________
Have you updated your garage lately?

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:36 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.