Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Electrical & Ignition

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-21-2017, 08:54 PM
JPhil's Avatar
JPhil JPhil is offline
United States | Huh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,382
My Photos: (140)
Default Thinking about a shift light

So I'm thinking about a shift light for my TKO600. I don't want a regular 3/4" diameter one mounted on the dash board like my drag racer buddies have. My idea is a subtle little LED light under the hood, in the windshield wiper tray. Doesn't need to be obnoxiously bright and I want it to only flash for a second or so, not stay on if I exceed that RPM.

I'm running the mechanical tachometer, but my MSD 6A box has an electric tach plug on it I can use.

In brief searching of the interweb I don't find anything that really satisfies me. Anybody here have any ideas or suggestions?
__________________
Kill the Buddha
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2017, 09:58 PM
phantomjock's Avatar
phantomjock phantomjock is online now
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Retired Again!
Posts: 1,083
My Photos: (553)
Default

Hey John -
I have one of these,but currently I think not available-upgrading production run:


I added one of these to the little racecar:

No shift light, but it is a soft cut rev limiter with no-lift shift. Quick way through the gears. You can feel the engine run out of its legs at the set point, clutch in, shift, go. BTW; the British pound is way down so great value with USD!

Cheers - Jim
__________________
Rebuilder's Zen Saying:
One thought leads to another. If these thoughts link into a chain we become bound to the project. This bondage is subtle and remains until we complete the tasks -- or, STOP Thinking!
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2017, 10:13 PM
phantomjock's Avatar
phantomjock phantomjock is online now
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Retired Again!
Posts: 1,083
My Photos: (553)
Default

Similar unit installed in a Viper had these results:

More info here: (more money though it is a US Firm.):
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Cheers - Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2017, 04:51 PM
LOTAHP's Avatar
LOTAHP LOTAHP is offline
United States | Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 82
My Photos: (7)
Default

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...][Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

When the hood is closed you don't see the gauges & shift light
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:32 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.