AN Fitting help

vette427sbc

This is my first time using AN stuff so I would like an opinion on how this connection looks. The tape was right up to the bottom of the fitting before I screwed in the blue piece. I had the hose right up to the bottom of the threads on the red piece. I tried a few times and this was the best I could get it to stay. Does this look like enough movement to not have to worry? It is -10 for my oil cooler.
2b42d2d3.jpg

You can make a connector to air pressure test those hoses pretty easily. And for any liquid connection, I'd recommend doing so. Put a plug in one end, adapt an air fitting to the other, and start dialing up the pressure.

Connection looks pretty good - I'd still want to pressure check it. Looks like it may have pushed out just a touch, but no leak under pressure, it's good.

That looks good but testing it sounds like a good idea, just to be safe.

I have done a bunch of those recently.

They way I did it was:
- put some tape over the place you want to cut. Cut in the middle through it, so there's tape on both ends of hose.
- Put the red socket on the hose and some 5-point socket over that with a ratchet and push and turn at the same time, untill the hose is past the last cone thread in there.
- Put oil on the blue part that goes in the tube, press it in and fasten it untill tight.

Don't forget to flush it, especially when it's an oil line. (depending on the way you cut the hose). I used a special cutoff wheel, went fine, but cause a lot of dust inside the tube.

Done.