What's the best solution for this?

greg75vette

The Traffic Baron
Hey guys, I've searched for a clue or an answer, and no dice. I realize this is very beginner, but I need to start fabricating somewhere.

In reference to another thread I started, I think I am leaning towards using a fuel cell for my engine swap. However, the one guy I found that did this, needed to cut the back 'trunk' wall to make some room; about 2".

The question is, if I move forward with this and modify that back wall, how do I patch up the large hole? I'm inclined to use fiberglass, but I have no such knowledge, so if that is a good direction, where is a good source on this sort of fiberglass fabrication? Or should I make the repair panel out of sheet metal? Don't really have any skill there, but I could fumble my way through it, if it's the best solution. There's also the third option of using the removed fiberglass panel, then using metal to make up the 2".

What do you all think?

Depends on the size of the fuel cell. By fuel cell you mean a steel container with a bladder inside right? Not those silly plastic things?

I have a 32 gallon fuel cell in mine and needed to cut out the rear frame crossmember to get it to fit but I would think that you could get a smaller 22 gal. one that wasn't as deep as the 32 gallon one. it would almost be bolt in.

I would think about it some more before you start cutting because if the rear firewall is interfering it won't take much until you hit the crossmember right there.

I can't lie to you Marck, a silly plastic cell was an option. Here are the two I was looking at:
Silly Black thing 25"L x 17"W x 9"H
Al cell 24"L x 20"W x 10"H