Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Electrical & Ignition

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-23-2019, 10:09 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,589
My Photos: (318)
Default C3 Headlight Wiring Question

I think all C3's have all four headlights on (any time the headlights are on). When the high beams are on the second filament in the inside lights is switched on. I have replaced my lights with H9 lights that are single filament lights. I like the "look" of all four lights on but don't want to drive around with bright lights at all times.

So I am thinking that I could wire the outside 2 lights normally and the two inside lights in series to cut their power in half. Then the high beam would switch the two inside lights to parallel (and full brightness).

As I have said before, wiring is not my best subject. So what do you think?

EDIT: C3 don't have all 4 lights on as I thought.
__________________

Last edited by BBShark; 01-07-2020 at 11:48 AM.. Reason: corrected info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2019, 11:14 PM
SRountree's Avatar
SRountree SRountree is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cincinnati - Middletown OH
Posts: 273
My Photos: (107)
Default

I believe my outside lights are on during low beam and they all come on when I turn on the brights.
__________________
Steve Rountree
513.505.4494
Middletown OH


If you can change your thoughts,...
You can change your world...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2019, 11:11 AM
phantomjock's Avatar
phantomjock phantomjock is online now
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Retired Again!
Posts: 1,345
My Photos: (679)
Default

Don't want one to go out and kill them all. Think Christmas Tree bulbs (old style). But is sounds like you've figured that out. Clever - for someone that claims little "sparky knowledge". I'd like to see the diagram when done.

LEDs are getting brighter and running a bit cooler and really reduce power requirements. Just sayin"

Cheers - Jim
__________________
Rebuilder's Zen Saying:
One thought leads to another. If these thoughts link into a chain we become bound to the project. This bondage is subtle and remains until we complete the tasks -- or, STOP Thinking!
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2019, 02:00 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,589
My Photos: (318)
Default

I found a method of switching between series and parallel with a DPDT relay. Took me a while to find a DPDT relay that was rated at more than 10 amps but finally found an automotive 30A rated (probably need at least 10A in parallel) . So I could trigger the relay with the dimmer switch.

Relay is also useful for switching directions on a motor like window UP/DOWN

American Zettler AZ2800-2C-12D


Attached Images
File Type: pdf American Zettler AZ2800-2C-12D Data Sheet.pdf (87.3 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by BBShark; 11-24-2019 at 03:16 PM.. Reason: correction
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2019, 08:09 PM
vette427sbc's Avatar
vette427sbc vette427sbc is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 966
My Photos: (128)
Default

if You are using halogen bulbs, they will change color while in series vs your low beams at ~14v. Might look funny. New-ish Honda’s do this with their high beam for a daytime running light(although via PWM) and I always thought it looked... not optimal. I do agree that it would look better with 4 lights on vs 2.
__________________
Chris
AutoWorks Middletown NJ
@autoworksnj
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2019, 01:25 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,589
My Photos: (318)
Default

Good point. Before I pull the trigger on this, I will power up the lights both ways and see how it looks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-25-2019, 05:11 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,589
My Photos: (318)
Default

I just powered these up side by side. High beam on 6v and low beam on 12v.

You were right, they don't look optimal, they look awful. They are dim and yellow. So, that's not going to work.

Now I'm thinking of running two low beam headlights (instead of low and high). However the H9 bulbs are 65 watts each. 260 watts of light seems a lot. Each bulb is rated at 2100 lumens.

Maybe if I put a resistor in series with each light to reduce the output ~20% and bypass when brighter lights are needed?

Picture is not an accurate comparison


Last edited by BBShark; 11-25-2019 at 05:40 PM.. Reason: added picture
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-26-2019, 03:23 AM
vette427sbc's Avatar
vette427sbc vette427sbc is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 966
My Photos: (128)
Default

As long as you have them in the proper reflectors, I see no problem with 4 lows.
Another idea might be to put a city light in the high beam reflector... An LED could likely match the color output of your low beams while not drawing much or putting any real light out
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-26-2019, 03:15 PM
mrvette's Avatar
mrvette mrvette is offline
United States | Phantom of the Opera
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 15,295
My Photos: (3)
Default

BTW putting two loads/lights/resistors is series across a given voltage means each load item gets only 1/4 of the original power.....

the current to each device is cut by 50%, and so is the voltage......
__________________
"Hell, there are no rules here ... we're trying to accomplish something." Thomas Edison
I have a little list, let ALL of them be MIST......
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2019, 02:42 AM
SRountree's Avatar
SRountree SRountree is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cincinnati - Middletown OH
Posts: 273
My Photos: (107)
Default

Would this work? They have both low and high beams.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:01 AM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.