Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Electrical & Ignition

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-16-2008, 01:08 PM
gr8vet's Avatar
gr8vet gr8vet is offline
Netherlands Antilles | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: I'd rather be in Bonaire
Posts: 333
My Photos: (5)
Default Courtesy Dimmer

OK, Uncle, uncle, uncle, I give, where the heck is the courtesy dimmer relay located in an '82?

Swapped out light switch, got lights, got interior lights if I turn the switch fully to left(or right, can't remember). But no lights when you open the door.

Thanks in advance.

tt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2008, 02:31 PM
Luster's Avatar
Luster Luster is offline
United States | Compulsively Anal
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lee's Summit MO
Posts: 462
My Photos: (0)
Default

There is a delay timer/relay behind the glove box. It is an orange box about 2x2" on the right side. Pull the relay and jumper the two white wires together. That should make your interior lights work when you open the doors.

If that works, then the timer/relay is bad. I didn't even replace mine. I like it better when the lights come on and go off with the door, as they should.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2008, 02:31 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

Right side, behind the glove box, on the pillar. It's a bright orange box. You're in luck, they're being reproduced again. They had been discontinued for years.
__________________


[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2008, 03:54 PM
gr8vet's Avatar
gr8vet gr8vet is offline
Netherlands Antilles | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: I'd rather be in Bonaire
Posts: 333
My Photos: (5)
Default

Sweet! I saw that thing, along with some other little electrical things all over when I had it torn apart. Bet I nicked a wire or it came unplugged. Did see a replacement for $80, wow. I think I'll take the Luster approach.


dang guys, I THANK YOU!!!!!!!!

I hope I can assist others on this forum.

tt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2008, 04:26 PM
Luster's Avatar
Luster Luster is offline
United States | Compulsively Anal
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lee's Summit MO
Posts: 462
My Photos: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin_Turbo View Post
. You're in luck, they're being reproduced again. They had been discontinued for years.
I didn't know that. I'll give it some thought, but if they are $80, I'll stay with my by-pass! haha...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2008, 04:28 PM
Twin_Turbo's Avatar
Twin_Turbo Twin_Turbo is offline
Netherlands | Der Maulwurf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,173
My Photos: (1296)
Default

I used the early C4 one. It's now discontinued I think. That one was black, internally the same boeard w/ identical edge card connection. The housing was different but could be inserted into the original connector by flipping it over (the anchor would be on the wrong side) and it worked too.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2008, 01:29 AM
gr8vet's Avatar
gr8vet gr8vet is offline
Netherlands Antilles | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: I'd rather be in Bonaire
Posts: 333
My Photos: (5)
Default

Hey guys, I found the relay board, cut the two whites, spliced together. Viola! I got lights!

Thanks again!

tt
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:41 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.