Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Electrical & Ignition

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-22-2019, 11:14 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,546
My Photos: (313)
Default Making Your Own Harness

Enough things are different about my car that I would like to make my own engine/ignition harness. The catch is the connector to the main fuse block. Anyone know if you can buy that connector shell?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2019, 01:22 AM
SRountree's Avatar
SRountree SRountree is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cincinnati - Middletown OH
Posts: 271
My Photos: (105)
Default

Not sure about that but Painless has a ton of options for their product. It would be worth calling them.
__________________
Steve Rountree
513.505.4494
Middletown OH


If you can change your thoughts,...
You can change your world...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2019, 12:43 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,546
My Photos: (313)
Default

I found that you can remove the terminals from the shell. Now to ID the terminal.

Edit: Found them
DELPHI PACKARD 2971859 GM 56 SERIES MALE TERMINAL 12 GA.





Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2020, 03:38 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,546
My Photos: (313)
Default

The lighting harness is basically done, I'm glad I did it this way. All the wires have been replaced and in some cases eliminated or their function is changed. I wish I would have done this with the ignition harness. I probably cut out about half the wires.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2020, 10:32 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,546
My Photos: (313)
Default

For the past couple of weeks I have been struggling with the wiper motor. A little background, I am using a long hood so I don't need any of the wiper door switching. The wiring is for a 69.

The complication is understanding the switch logic/vacuum switching interface to a later motor (which is very simple). A further complication is the wiper switch. What an incredible pile of junk. I bought a new one that was DOA, I didn't know it, and spent a week trying to get it to work. There are some switch tests at Willcox that allowed me to determine it didn't work. So, a new switch. Long story short, I finally got it working. This switch looks like and works like some thing from a 50's Japanese toy. Has positions off-low-high and push for wiper pump. It is almost impossible to get in the middle/low position.




Lets call this a learning experience (caused by jumping a useless wiper relay):



Thinking about losing the washer pump and using a DPDT switch. Can't really imagine being caught in the rain!

Last edited by BBShark; 02-18-2020 at 11:04 PM.. Reason: Added info
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2020, 11:07 AM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,546
My Photos: (313)
Default

So I eliminated all the wiper door switching, overrides and relay. The stock switch will go in the trash (where it belongs). I am going to replace/rewire to use 2 modern rocker switches. First switch will give me a single speed and add another momentary switch so that I can get the wipers to operate a couple of swipes, then park (sort of a manual/intermittent wiper). Also eliminating the washer function. I don't see myself getting caught in a monsoon so this should work fine.

Next on the list is complete the headlight wiring, complete the radiator fan wiring and alternator wiring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2020, 11:10 PM
vette427sbc's Avatar
vette427sbc vette427sbc is online now
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 941
My Photos: (120)
Default

Please share your diagram for the simplified switch setup, sounds cool! Im all about electrically simplifying things, but I still plan on keeping the "wiper door open" switch... bad things happen if the door isnt open all the way and the wipers are anywhere but in the park position. Ask me how I know

Will you run the motor in high speed only?
__________________
Chris
AutoWorks Middletown NJ
@autoworksnj
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-28-2020, 10:26 PM
BBShark's Avatar
BBShark BBShark is offline
United States | Garage Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here
Posts: 4,546
My Photos: (313)
Default

I am going to make a hybrid 1968 BB/1973 long hood. So, things are a little easier, no wiper door. But I admit I struggled with understanding what I needed to do to get the 69 wiring harness to just operate the motor! I put this schematic together from a 69 schematic and a 74 schematic. Tried it and it resulted in the ultimate electrical fail (melted wires). In my defense, I was working with a defective switch and didn't know it.



So, my second run at this involved completely re-thinking what I really wanted the wipers to do. The 69 wiper has a pump to squirt wiper fluid when yo push the switch button in. I don't see myself driving through a mud bog in this car so, I don't need that. I also don't see myself driving in a monsoon so I can do without the high speed wipers. I would like to push a button and have the wipers swipe the window once or twice. I think that's useful. Lastly, I wanted to replace that awful switch!

So, the next step was to "hotwire" the wiper motor and see if I could make it do what I want. It took five minutes This is after spending a couple of weeks screwing around with this.

It's so simple you don't need a schematic. There is a three wire connector that goes to the wiper motor. The middle one is the switched power. The bottom is grounded. To turn the motor on to low speed the top wire is grounded. To park the motor and tun it off, you switch off the ground (to the top terminal).

I think the wiper door electrical/vacuum interface to these cars is really over complicated. I had the same issue with the headlight door and motors on mine. I had two choices. Turn the motors and headlights on at the same time or open the doors and have a switch on the doors that turn the lights on when fully open. I think you could do something like that with the wiper door. So the open door would actually trigger the wipers.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:55 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.