Threading a Grade 8 bolt?

The Artist formerly known as Turbo84
Clinging to my guns and religion in KCMO.
I need to add a few more threads to one of the sway bar link bolts to make sure I've got enough adjustability so there's no preload in the bar. The bolts are grade 8 fine thread (I'm sure grade 5 would be sufficient, but these are what I've got at the moment). Before I risk damage to my die piece (as I've never tried to thread a grade 8 bolt before) is this going to be a problem? If so I'll just get a grade 5 bolt next time I'm at a hardware store. If not then I'll save some time not looking for a new bolt and modify this one. So, any thoughts on this?

Thanks,
Mike

No it will thread the pre cut threads just fine but the threads will all be cut because they are originally rolled and as such the thread profile is a little different. The problem could arise when you get to the threaded portion, depending on the OD there it may or may not be possible to thread it.

But...cant you add a little spacer bushing or whatever to solve the issue??

No it will thread the pre cut threads just fine but the threads will all be cut because they are originally rolled and as such the thread profile is a little different. The problem could arise when you get to the threaded portion, depending on the OD there it may or may not be possible to thread it.

I think he'd have to turn down the unthreaded portion? The thread profile on a grade 8 is different? Not different enough to prevent using a grade 5 nut with a grade 8 bolt. I don't think.

The fact that you know that though is amazing. I've never ever said that you weren't a brain.