Go Back   VetteMOD.com > VetteMOD Technical Discussion > Engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-27-2019, 10:15 PM
vette427sbc's Avatar
vette427sbc vette427sbc is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 845
My Photos: (26)
Default Oil Level Sensor

Im trying to avoid using a nylon sight tube on my oil tank to check oil level... Has anyone ever used or have any info on oil level sensors? Ideally Id like something that utilizes a float and has a variable output, but from what Ive seen available online that seems like alot to ask. Id like to use something OEM but cant get much info.

The filler to my oil tank is under the fender, so a dip-stick (unless flexible) will not work, and the tank is somewhat close to the headers so if I can avoid a potential failure point with the sight tube there that would be ideal
__________________
Chris
AutoWorks Middletown NJ
@autoworksnj
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2019, 10:38 AM
phantomjock's Avatar
phantomjock phantomjock is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Retired Again!
Posts: 1,218
My Photos: (699)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vette427sbc View Post
The filler to my oil tank is under the fender, so a dip-stick (unless flexible) will not work, and the tank is somewhat close to the headers so if I can avoid a potential failure point with the sight tube there that would be ideal
That is exactly how my '69 911S was set up. Might check Porsche aftermarket options. Never "really figured out how it worked - it just did. Gauge on the dash gave a fuel-like view of oil capacity.

Cheers - Jim
__________________
Rebuilder's Zen Saying:
One thought leads to another. If these thoughts link into a chain we become bound to the project. This bondage is subtle and remains until we complete the tasks -- or, STOP Thinking!
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2019, 06:19 PM
vette427sbc's Avatar
vette427sbc vette427sbc is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 845
My Photos: (26)
Default

Jim- funny you mention the 911...
after some more research it appears that a 996 era 911 has a resistance based oil level sensor... I already have one on order to do some testing. This sensor also has a thermistor for measuring oil temp so that could be helpful to compare tank temperatures vs engine oil temps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2019, 10:13 PM
69427's Avatar
69427 69427 is offline
United States | The Artist formerly known as Turbo84
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Clinging to my guns and religion in KCMO.
Posts: 2,652
My Photos: (2)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vette427sbc View Post
Jim- funny you mention the 911...
after some more research it appears that a 996 era 911 has a resistance based oil level sensor... I already have one on order to do some testing. This sensor also has a thermistor for measuring oil temp so that could be helpful to compare tank temperatures vs engine oil temps.
Sounds interesting. Looking forward to seeing how it pans out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2019, 01:30 AM
vette427sbc's Avatar
vette427sbc vette427sbc is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 845
My Photos: (26)
Default

Part is in... so the range is kind of small, which is not surprising considering itís designed for a wet sump. I was able to get a proper pin out for the temp sensor and level sensing though. A quick measurement showed ~600k ohms empty and ~360k ohm full. That doesnít jive with the 18-25 ohms that Iím reading about online so Iím not sure what my issue is.

The sensor that I ordered is for a non turbo wetsump car. Iím going to try a turbo/gt2 sensor (drysump) in hopes that the range is a little more broad

The current reading range is at the holes from 1.5Ē to 3.25Ē
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2019, 11:32 PM
redvetracr's Avatar
redvetracr redvetracr is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: midwestern USA
Posts: 1,556
My Photos: (118)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vette427sbc View Post
Im trying to avoid using a nylon sight tube on my oil tank to check oil level... Has anyone ever used or have any info on oil level sensors? Ideally Id like something that utilizes a float and has a variable output, but from what Ive seen available online that seems like alot to ask. Id like to use something OEM but cant get much info.

The filler to my oil tank is under the fender, so a dip-stick (unless flexible) will not work, and the tank is somewhat close to the headers so if I can avoid a potential failure point with the sight tube there that would be ideal
you realize the correct way to check your oil level with a dry sump is with the motor running right?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2019, 12:22 AM
GT6Steve's Avatar
GT6Steve GT6Steve is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas Nevada
Posts: 739
My Photos: (0)
Default

I'm extremely interested in this thread specifically for the dry sump tank to gauge level changes throughout the rev range, as in, how effective is scavenge and oil return at higher volumes. At the end of the longest straight how much oil is still in the engine.

I love this sensor and can't wait to see the results.

PS, found myself much too busy to watch the float and rod with a flag on top LOL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2019, 01:37 AM
vette427sbc's Avatar
vette427sbc vette427sbc is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 845
My Photos: (26)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redvetracr View Post

you realize the correct way to check your oil level with a dry sump is with the motor running right?
Yes, and unless Iím missing something, wouldnít this make it easier? Also being able to monitor tank levels at different RPMs with the tank still closed would be nice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT6Steve View Post
I'm extremely interested in this thread specifically for the dry sump tank to gauge level changes throughout the rev range, as in, how effective is scavenge and oil return at higher volumes. At the end of the longest straight how much oil is still in the engine.

I love this sensor and can't wait to see the results.

PS, found myself much too busy to watch the float and rod with a flag on top LOL
As-is, I think the range is smaller than ideal, but I pulled this thing apart and I have some ideas on how it could be modded for a bigger range. The 996 turbo sensor might be too small and still has a similar range. I may ditch that idea. This one looks more ďmod-ableĒ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2019, 12:02 AM
redvetracr's Avatar
redvetracr redvetracr is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: midwestern USA
Posts: 1,556
My Photos: (118)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vette427sbc View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by redvetracr View Post

you realize the correct way to check your oil level with a dry sump is with the motor running right?
Yes, and unless Iím missing something, wouldnít this make it easier? Also being able to monitor tank levels at different RPMs with the tank still closed would be nice.

I only raced my car 36 times yet never felt the need to monitor oil level while driving...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-2019, 11:52 PM
vette427sbc's Avatar
vette427sbc vette427sbc is offline
United States | Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 845
My Photos: (26)
Default

I think you're missing the point here... The whole reason for using this sensor is because I cannot open the top of the tank and stick a rod down to check level. I had Aviaid weld bungs on the side to allow for a sight tube but after some consideration Id like to avoid using that to lessen my chances of an oil leak near the exhaust. A nice by-product of this sensor is to be able to collect data that wouldnt be easily attainable with a sight tube or rod down the fill neck. What am I going to do with this data? I have no clue.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Yes, I can still fill the tank with it in place
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 PM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.