Available parts?!?

Tool&Die4Life

Ok, i love the C-3 vette but im kinda stumped by the parts that are available for other cars but not the C3.

For example, i was thinking about covering my car in vinyl, which got me thinking about vinyl that looks like carbon fiber. So i priced it out and then realized that if i just used real carbon fiber and laid it over the fiberglass its cheaper. Then i looked for body parts made completely out of carbon fiber and i couldn't find any for the C3. Are there really NO carbon fiber body parts available anywhere for the C3? It seems like there is alot of interest in Carbon fiber for the c3 so why cant i find any?

Also i saw a post a while back about a dana 60 rear-end, how there were only like 2 or 3 in existence and how bullet proof and awesome they are. If they are so great why doesn't someone just copy it and start making them, its seems like there would be a demand for those also.

Anyway i know im a rookie on the corvette scene, but i wanted some of the old timers input on this.

it comes down to dollars. Why use carbon fiber when you can build a 1000 hp motor for the same dollars? Why use a 60 with its weight and fitment problems when there are 9" available....

Carbon is cool, but replacing fiberglass with carbon? I can't imagine the weight savings would be enough to warrant the cost. With that said, there's a C3 being built on here where price is no object (he has a carbon fiber roof - convertible car).... I can't imagine that roof cost would be less than 40,000....

there is always a lot of interest in trick Corvette parts, right up until it`s time to pay .....big hat, fancy boots, no cattle.

:shocking: I can say for sure, my car would not exist in anything close to present form, without the expert welding my buddy has done....

:beer:

there is always a lot of interest in trick Corvette parts, right up until it`s time to pay .....big hat, fancy boots, no cattle.

:rofl::rofl: